The Oscars 2011: Mila Kunis to Nicole Kidman – The best and worst gowns on the red carpet

Having spent last night and this morning following the Oscars on twitter, I thought it right to blog about some of the stunning gowns we saw on the red carpet.  Unlike others I was more concerned about who was wearing what rather than who was winning what! Although I am so happy that Natalie Portman took home Best Actress and The King’s Speech won Best Film with Colin Firth also winning Best Actor.  Both Black Swan and The King’s Speech are INCREDIBLE films, so deserved winners.

Mila Kunis in Elie Saab Couture

Mila Kunis wins best dressed for me this year.  I think she looked stunning in the pale lilac Elie Saab gown with the lace and floating train.  As usual Mila’s make up was perfection and her hair finished off the look perfectly with soft flowing curls and a loose, low bun.

Amy Adams :: Cate Blanchett :: Michelle Williams

Amy Adams has become one of my favourite ladies to watch on the red carpet this year, I loved her dresses for the SAG Awards and the BAFTAs and she had another hit with this L’Wren Scott navy sequined gown last night.  Cate Blanchett’s lavender and yellow Givenchy couture was stunning – I just wish it didn’t have the little yellow embellished shoulders.  Although they add a pop of colour and are an interesting and innovative feature, I feel that the dress would be so much more classic without them.  Michelle Williams has received some criticism for her choice of Chanel gown, however I loved it, it’s simple yet stunning, all encrusted with pearls, and her hair and make up looked flawless as ever.

Hailee Steinfeld :: Sandra Bullock :: Natalie Portman

Fourteen year old Hailee Steinfeld, who is becomming a big talking point both in Hollywood and the fashion world, looked beautiful in a Marchesa dress which she helped design.  If her designs are going to look like this then I can’t wait to see what else she can do, her talents seem endless!  The dress had token Marchesa traits, with the full skirt and stunning embellishments.  Sandra Bullock looking stunning in scarlet Vera Wang, the neck line is so flattering and the bright red lip  and pulled back hair keep the look simple, but on trend.  In my opinion Natalite Portman looked the best she has since her bump appeared in Rodarte (this seems fitting as they were the label who designed all of the performance costumes for Black Swan).  The deep berry colour looks stunning on her and the embellished neckline with empire cut shape was so flattering to her pregnant figure.

Nicole Kidman and Gwyneth Paltrow

I  loved Gwyneth Paltrow’s shimmering Calvin Klein gown with the plunging neckline, I thought her sleek hair and amazing tan finished off the look perfectly.  On the other hand there was Nicole Kidman, even with on trend hair and jewelery, this Dior dress was horrible.  I usually love Kidman’s taste and think she’s beautiful, but this looked like a bad wedding dress with ugly embellishments.  The slit at the front was bizarre and  the exaggerated hips were not flattering. Although Kidman is tiny skinny, the dress made her look bottom heavy.

 

Marisa Tomei :: Scarlett Johansson :: Florence Welch

Other poorly dressed stars included Marisa Tomei, who wore a 1950s Charles James gown.  I thought that the neckline was unflattering and the skirt was too full and asymmetrical, also her hair looked unfinished.  However the colour of the dress was beautiful, midnight blue is very on trend.  I wasn’t sure whether I liked Scarlett Johansson’s dress when I first saw it, but the more I look at it the more I hate it, the Dolce & Gabbana two tone lace and strange bust look a little under-dressed for the Oscars, however I thought she looked stunning from the neck up, I loved her hair.  Florence Welch from Florence and the Machine wore a Valentino Couture gown, which in itself was gorgeous, but it just didn’t look right on her.  The cream washed her out and I feel like she needed some more colour going on, perhaps with a tan or some bronzer, or maybe a poppy red lip.

2 responses to “The Oscars 2011: Mila Kunis to Nicole Kidman – The best and worst gowns on the red carpet

  1. Why is Anne Hathaway not on this list?! I know she was only presenting but at least 2 or 3 of her 8 outfit changes were stunners! Halle Berry and Mandy Moore looked fab imo. xxx

    • If you are patient, Miss Katie, then you will see that in a few hours a post will go up about all of Anne Hathaway’s different outfits! I’m just trying to find good pictures of them at the moment.
      Also, I liked Mandy Moore’s dress, but thought her hair and make up didn’t do her justice, and I thought Halle Berry’s dress was a bit…. meh… So didn’t put them in.
      Keep checking for my next post, EJ xx

Leave a Reply

