Music March: Week 2

Day 8: Johnny Flynn – Brown Trout Blues

I was introduced to Johnny Flynn recently by  a friend, I had heard about him before as he is a known friend of the actor Robert Pattinson.  Johnny Flynn is an English actor, poet and songwriter, he’s appeared in several plays at the Royal Court Theatre.  He also fronts the band Johnny Flynn and the Sussex Wit.  I love the folky guitar and harmonica in this song, and the lyrics are lovely and so true.

Johnny said of the song: “It’s loosely based around experience, wanting somebody or something to be a certain way in a relationship and wondering how it could change. But then realizing that that would defeat the point and that you can’t change someone, they have to change themselves…”

 

Day 9: Black Lab – Mine Again (Feat. Kristin Kelly)

I only discovered this song a couple of months ago, and it has fast become one of my favourites.  I found it on the trailer for the upcoming film ‘Waiting For Forever‘ starring Tom Sturridge and Rachel Bilson (which I am so excited to see).  I haven’t been able to find the version with Kristin Kelly anywhere on youtube until recently, but I also love the original (see both below).  I’m not sure which one I love more, but I think the Kristin Kelly one wins as I love the last chorus.

Black Lab are an American alternative rock band.  They have been making music since 1995, and now have 8 albums.  Their music has appeared in Spider-Man, Buffy the Vampire Slayer and Transformers, along with many other films and TV shows.  I love their music and don’t understand how they’ve only had 2 charting singles in the USA.  But sometimes the lesser known bands are the ones you love best as you feel like they’re your own little secret.

The above video was the only youtube clip I could find with the song featuring Kristin Kelly, so excuse the cheesey film pics! Below is the official video for the original song.

 

Day 10: Dave Matthews Band – Stay or Leave

A good friend of mine sent me a link to this song recently, and I fell in love with it the first time I heard it.  After downloading it I found that I already had a few DMB songs in my itunes, I’d just forgotten about them.  Dave Matthews Band has fast become one of my go-to musicians when I can’t decide what to listen to.  I love this song, it reminds me of moments in my past, but is also beautiful.

Dave Matthews Band has won one Grammy Award in 1997 for best rock vocal performance by a duo or group.  They were also nominated for several others.  The band is known for their annual summer-long tours of the US and Europe, featuring lengthy improvisational renditions of their songs, accompanied by an elaborate video and lighting show.  Read more about DMB.

I also love this live acoustic version of ‘Stay or Leave’ below, in fact I almost prefer it…

 

Day 11: Piers Faccini – A Storm Is Going To Come

Another song that I found on Grey’s Anatomy.  I love Piers’ voice and the beautiful guitar.  Piers Faccini is an English singer, painter and song writer.  Some interesting facts about Piers are that, his mother was English, his father Italian, his family moved to Paris when he was five, he was expelled from Eton College aged 17 and he has toured several times with Ben Harper.  Piers is now based in Paris.

 

Day 12: Bobby Long – Dead and Done

Today is a day for another of Robert Pattinson’s pals.  Bobby Long has worked with Pattinson, and even co-wrote the song ‘Let Me Sign’ (an absolutely stunning song performed by Robert Pattinson) which features on the ‘Twilight‘ soundtrack.  Long is an English singer-songwriter, born in Wigan and raised in Wiltshire, he plays the guitar and cello.  He’s known for his acoustic folk-inspired music.  Long graduated from London Met in June, 2009, earning his degree after writing his senior thesis on the social impact of American folk music.  Since then he’s been performing full-time.  I chose this song of his because I love the version he did for Burberry Acoustic (below) and the quality of his voice throughout the track.  I also love the reference to one of my old favorites Johnny Cash.

Another reason to like Bobby Long?  He’s super sexy…

 

Day 13: A Fine Frenzy – Almost Lover

This song needs no introduction or waffling on about how incredible it is, because it speaks for itself.  Stunning.

Read more about A Fine Frenzy, and visit their website.

 

Day 14: Stephen Fretwell – Emily

The fact that this song is called ‘Emily’ isn’t the only good thing about it!  I love the acoustic guitar and Stephen Fretwell‘s haunting voice.  An English singer-songwriter from Lincolnshire, Fretwell started his musical career in a band named Label.  He was described by Q as “Scunthorpe’s finest export… ever”.  If you think you recognise his voice, it might be because his song ‘Run’ is the theme song to sit-com Gavin & Stacey.

Leave a Reply

