This Week’s Obsession: Zara’s Maxi dresses.

I am not ashamed to stand up and say, “My name is Emily and I am addicted to Zara.”  Every time I walk past the shop in town, I HAVE to go in. I crave it, I sit browsing online for hours, creating my dream wardrobe from all of the stunning items littering their spring/summer 2012 collection.  Yes, some of it is miles out of my humble student budget, but some pieces are very reasonably priced.  My favourite thing to look at currently are the maxi dresses.  Just gorgeous. Here are my top 5 favourites and how to wear them…

1.  Long Embroidered Dress – £49.99

This dress is gorgeous, perfect for a garden party, day in the park or a special occasion (but not a wedding).  Wear it with tan wedge sandals or simple flip flops.  I would opt for hair in loose natural waves with lashings of mascara and bronzer to keep the simple, whimsical look.

2. Printed Dress – £39.99

WANT WANT WANT!! I love this print, the colours are stunning and the shape is simple, yet flattering and will suit all shapes.  I’d wear this with some chunky gladiator sandals and a loose plait coming over the shoulder.  Perfect for a day in the park or on the beach, but you could also dress it up for a special occasion.

3. Long Draped Dress – £49.99

Something draws me to this dress, normally I am a big hater of brown, but this is just the right shade.  The pleats are very on trend and the slits add some sexy to an otherwise demure dress.  This is perfect for an evening event, wear with a skinny belt and simple strappy shoes to maintain the elegance.  The neck line of this dress begs for a classy up-do and some gorgeous smoky eyes.

4. Dress with Side Slits – £29.99

This dress is classy and elegant, whilst also being casual.  It’s easy to wear with any foot wear and for any occasion.  Dress it up with a metallic belt, sky scraper heels and some statement sparkly earrings or dress it down with flipflops and just-out-of-bed hair for everyday wear.

5. Asymmetric Dress – £49.99

I’ve always been a fan of asymmetric dresses, especially when there’s drapery involved!!  The cinched in waist is flattering and the drapery will hide a multitude of sins.  Which is why this dress is perfect with some killer heels, a gorgeous up-do and red lippy for a dinner party or evening drinks.  I have always thought that it’s better to be over-dressed than under-dressed.

Some of these may claim to be out of stock online, but I have been in Zara recently and they are still in stores, so it may just be that the online store is out of stock, but the retailers still have bundles of them. You may need to do some exploring!

Happy shopping!

Love,

3 responses to “This Week’s Obsession: Zara’s Maxi dresses.

  1. Love your blog!!!!! It’s just so inspiring!!!
    I was wandering where could i get the zara printed maxi dress? I absolutely adore it and i NEED it!! Haha do you know where i could get it? A website??
    Thank you for your help.
    Xxxx

Leave a Reply

